Spinning!

As in yarn, not indoor cycling. I’m actually no stranger to making yarn but it’s been a couple of years. I used to spin on a spinning wheel but after not touching it for 6 months, I decided to sell it. I recently got the urge to try spinning again but wheels are pretty expensive so I needed to be sure that this is something I’ll stick to on a more regular basis. I went up to WEBS, a HUGE yarn store in MA, to try a few wheels but after sitting at them for awhile, I was reminded why I sold my wheel in the first place. The big thing is wheels are stationary and I could never get comfortable sitting in one position for a long period of time with my spinning wheel. I also have a toddler running around so I don’t get a lot of time to just sit and concentrate on one thing at a time. Enter the spindle:8459222254_a5f32f8d63_b

I tried a spindle before but found it tedious and slow. However, when I picked one up at WEBS, I was hooked. I find it incredibly relaxing and even better, it’s a lot cheaper – like $555 cheaper. I can also spin anywhere! I spin while Charlie is eating, while waiting for water to boil, a few minutes before work, AT work, in the car, everywhere! I can even spin while curled up on the couch, which is all I want to do at the end of a long day. Last weekend I finished my first spindle spun yarn:

BFL 78 yardsBFL 78 yard

I still have a lot to learn but I’m enjoying it so much. I’m about halfway through my next yarn, a sparkly superwash merino blend:

progress

And I’ve already begun prepping for my next spinning project:

fiber-prep

The only problem with spindle spinning is just how inexpensive the tools and materials can be. I’ve already purchased two more spindles since purchasing my first on February 2nd! This beauty is from Tilt-a-Whorl spindles. Of course, I had to buy some rainbow colored fiber to spin on my rainbow spindle.

new-spindle

I haven’t completely written off spinning wheels but right now, I’m more than happy with the spindle. 

Leave a Reply

