Beauty Regimen

I was inspired by Emily to do a beauty regimen post. When I first started, I thought I wouldn’t have much to say but wow, this post got long.

I’m not dedicated to one brand of soap but I am dedicated to local handmade soaps. Right now, I’m using Connecticut Natural Soapworks. 

My favorite body lotion is Alba Botanica Very Emollient Body Lotion. It smells great and lasts all day.

Even the gentlest cleansers dry out my horrible combination skin thus, producing more oil. For that reason, I stick to oil based cleansers. I know it sounds counter intuitive to battle oil with oil but it works! If you want to be super hardcore, you can just use olive oil to wash your skin but I’m not that brave.  My favorite cleanser is Earth Science A-D-E Creamy Cleanser.

I follow it up with their Aloe Vera Toner which doesn’t have alcohol so it doesn’t dry my skin out like most toners do.

I finish up with the Almond-Aloe SPF-15 moisturizer. If there’s one thing I’ve learned about skincare is always use a moisturizer with SPF.  

Most days I don’t wear makeup so I’m not loyal to one brand. I usually buy the cheapest liquid eyeliner and mascara I can find. Right now, I’m using Almay Liquid Liner and Rimmel Scandaleyes. I’ll admit, I’m super attracted to those big bright bottles of mascara that claim to add volume and length to your lashes. Usually, I’m disappointed but so far, I’ve been really happy with Rimmel. 

I follow the no-shampoo method for maintaining my hair. It doesn’t work for everyone but it’s been great for my hair. Basically, I stay away from sulfates because they’re too drying and silicones because they cause buildup without the use of sulfates.  I use a light, silicone-free conditioner to wash my hair (called a co-wash in the curly girl world) and a heavier silicone-free conditioner to, well, condition it.  I go through a ton of conditioner so I stick to the cheap stuff: Suave Naturals or Tresseme Naturals as my co-wash and Garnier Fructise Triple Nutrition as my conditioner.

Everyone couple of my months, my curls seem to go limp and just don’t have the life they usually have. When this happens, I like to clarify my hair with a sulfate-free shampoo like Giovanni.

Flaxseed gel is amazing – it takes about 5 minutes to make and it’s super cheap. It makes my curly hair so shiny, something that can be hard to achieve. I use it as a base but others use it as their main gel. 

The one thing I splurge on is Kinky Curly Curling Custard because it really helps to form my curls and keep them under control.

On really humid days in the summer, I use Fruit of the Earth Aloe Vera. Yep, the same stuff that’s great on sunburns is also great at keeping the frizz under control.

I do straighten my hair about half the time but I don’t do anything differently other than add extra conditioner to my ends. I need to invest in some silicone-free straightening products but I’ve been hesitant because they’re so expensive. 

Leave a Reply

