Image

I love co-sleeping! I’m a well rested mama and I owe it to co-sleeping combined  with breastfeeding. When Charlotte first came home, she slept in the Newborn Napper portion of the Pack N’ Play. Between my obsessive need to check if she was still breathing and the pain from my c-section, I nixed that after 2 days. When we first brought her into the bed, it wasn’t easy. I still had to get up every 2 hours to change and feed her. Once, I figured out the side-lying nursing position, everything became much easier. I started putting her in overnight diapers (a pocket diaper stuffed with extra inserts) so that all I have to worry about is nursing her.

The sound of Charlotte stirring can wake me even from the deepest sleep. Sometimes, she’s just changing positions but when she starts sucking on her hand, I know it’s nursing time. I carefully roll her over to me and get her latched on while she’s still asleep, then I can doze off. Most nights, she only needs to be nursed once or twice but she has those nights when she wants to nurse every 2 hours. Those are the nights I REALLY appreciate co-sleeping. I still manage to get at least 7 hours of sleep, even during the toughest nights. 

When I hear other moms complaining about lack of sleep and having to go all the way to nursery to feed their baby, I want to yell, “COSLEEP!” but I know it’s not for everyone. If you’re going to be so paranoid about rolling over your baby that you won’t sleep, it’s probably not worth it. Some people hear the word co-sleep and link it to SIDS. There is such a thing as safe co-sleeping and unsafe co-sleeping just like there is safe crib sleeping and unsafe crib sleeping. Personally, I feel better having her next to me where I can easily check on her. 

As much as I love co-sleeping, I don’t plan on doing it forever. Right now, I co-sleep for the convenience and peace of mind (okay and because I love snuggling with my baby), not because Charlotte needs it. This girl could sleep anywhere and I’d like to transition her into her crib while that’s still true. We’ll probably start off slow and keep her in the Pack N’ Play in our room and as I become less of a worry wart, we’ll move her into her own room. 

Leave a Reply

