Watershed

I’m not normally into shrugs or cropped cardigans but something about Amy Swenson’s design really caught my eye. It just looked like the perfect piece to throw over a sun dress or a plain white tank and jeans.

Add an Image


Pattern: Watershed by Amy Swenson

Yarn: Mission 1824 Wool

Notes: My last few projects have been hats, scarves and tiny baby sweaters so it was nice to knit an actual garment for myself. This was a fairly fast but interesting project to work on. The lace charts were easy to memorize and felt intuitive right at the beginning, making it a very portable project. I like that the border is knit along with the body instead of picked up and knit later on.  I love interesting construction!

Mission 1824 is just an okay yarn. I chose it mainly for the color and it’s softness – which, made it a joy to knit with. The price is a little steep for the yardage you get and I can already tell this thing is going to pill like crazy.  If I were to knit this again, I’d go with a wool/silk blend like Cascade Venezia.

I’m currently working on a little cardigan, Audrey in Unst, in Brooks Farm Solo Silk. This yarn is so beautiful and soft, I love the way it’s knitting up. The pattern is a bit boring to knit but I love the look of it so far:

I hope  to update more after the wedding. I’ve been avoiding blogging about it because I want to keep the details a secret so my guests will be surprised. And I really haven’t done much non-wedding related crafting lately.

4 comments

  1. Pingback: Oakley « Handknit by Mikaiya


Leave a Reply

