MD Sheep and Wool

So I went to MD Sheep & Wool this past weekend and it was awesome. I had never been to one so I didn’t know what to expect but basically you have the opportunity to buy a ton of yarn, check out other handmade goodies, eat fair food, see some animals and maybe pick up a new hobby or two. I did all five of those things. This is going to have to be told in a series of photos:

First, we checked out Tess Designer Yarns where I bought some Microfiber Ribbon Yarn:

I plan on making Coachella with this yarn. This stuff is so silky, I can’t wait to be wearing it. I’ve heard it’s difficult to knit with because it’s so slippery and there are some weird winding instructions. I’m just going to knit directly from my swift so I can avoid any tangles. That means the project won’t be portable but that’s ok, I bought plenty of yarn to start many new projects.

Next, we hit up the The Fold, where Karen was nice enough to hold a place in line for us while we shopped. Check it out:

The first photo shows where the line begins and where we were standing. The next, shows how many people were behind us. Socks that Rock is like crack to these people. I was just curious enough to try it:

After I bought the sock yarn, I told myself I was done. Let’s see how that worked out:

I ended up getting some Koigu mill ends, Little Barn Cotton and Eco-Spun (perfect for a market bag), a drop spindle and of course, some roving to learn on. It looks like I’m going to be super busy until next year’s MD Sheep & Wool. I also bought some non-knitting related items including a needle felting kit and some awesome prints from Connie TΓΆgel. You have got to check her stuff out.

So, all in all I had a great time at the festival and hanging out with some cool knitters. Thanks for inviting me, Heidi!

7 comments

  1. I’m wondering if every single mdsw blogger got a snapshot of that coffee colored alpaca- I know I did and I’ve seen it posted 3 or 4 times!

    it was my first time there too- yowza, say I.

  2. Aww! Brenda! I’m so happy that you had a good time. I told you that you’d be in good (if not speedy) hands.

    I invited you so that we could hang out and get to know each other better, but that didn’t happen, did it? lol

    Next time!! πŸ™‚

  3. Thank you for stopping by at the “Sheep Incognito” booth and thank you for your support. We hope Conni’s artworks will bring a lot of smiles in your life. Don’t forget to smile back to the sheep…. πŸ˜‰

    Peter

  4. Brenda – just wanted to stop in and say hi and thanks for visiting the Sheep Incognito, it made them feel right at home up there! It was our first visit to the MSWF as well, so we didn’t know what to expect either – boy what a place! That line there looked quite impressive – maybe next time I’ll have to see what the hype is about ( I don’t knit if I can help it any, so I probably won’t understand anyway πŸ™‚ )
    Hope the sheep behave themselves in your home (remember to keep smiling at them – keeps them happy, and only happy sheep smell good πŸ™‚ )

  5. hey there. i found ya through ravelry where i’m knittinkitties. i’ve got a question for you–how did you get your pictures through flickr to be arrange so nicely???

    great yarn, by the way


Leave a Reply

