Valentine’s Day

Before I met Conor, Valentine’s Day actually had significance in my life. I’d pretend to not care about the commercial holiday but really deep down, I was wishing I had a valentine. I would secretly hope some secret admirer would reveal themselves by buying me chocolates or sending me flowers. The truth is, I don’t even like flowers that much and if I really wanted chocolate, I’d buy some myself.After I met Conor, I didn’t feel the need to put so much energy into one day. Now, it’s just an excuse to hang out and be us. I dread the thought of dressing up and eating in some expensive restaurant that is totally not us. We could be uncomfortable any day of the year. On a day like today, “the day of romance”, I’d rather get some take-out and snuggle up and watch Lost. Romantic, right? I’ve been trying to find a photo that captures our relationship. It took awhile but this one has to be in the top ten:

taken by Greg Paul

We’re two goofy people who happen to be in love.

AND on a crafty related note:

I made this dress from a thin stretchy jersey material and I hate it. I’m wearing it as I type this minutes before I have to go to work…but I still hate it. It’s a little frumpy and I’m not sure about the color. Maybe it’s just too plain. To be honest, I can’t put my finger on it but I know that my feelings toward it lean towards hate.

Of course, it is from a Built by Wendy pattern (Simplicity 3835) . It’s a variation between designs A, B and C. The neckline is from C, the sleeves from A and the length is from B. Maybe after wearing it today, I won’t feel so bad about it. I’ll let you know.

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!

 

 

One comment


Leave a Reply

